Planning & Delivery

Curriculum Planning & Delivery

The Elmwood Normal School Curriculum Planning and Delivery Document is the physical outcome of a two-year professional development programme in which all staff members participated. The redesign of the New Zealand Curriculum provided our school with the ideal opportunity to create a teaching and learning programme, which was designed specifically for our community. We wanted our teachers to be creators of new ideas, thinkers for change, and to communicate a way forward. We wanted our teachers to think further and beyond, outside the square and to connect their passion to others in order to turn their vision into reality. We wanted our teachers to create direction rather than wait for direction, and for them to have strong educational values and to align these values to their classroom vision.

Our vision for success centres on three key areas:

  • Values
  • Key Competencies
  • Essential skills or key tasks across learning areas.

This will lead to a successful learner outcome with a young citizen who exhibits:

  • Intellectual astuteness
  • Innovative and curious learning traits
  • Smart learning habits
  • Strategic thinking habits
  • Creative and reflective thinking
  • High expectations with a strong focus on achievement
  • A desire to contribute to the wider community, and most importantly
  • Possess and model strong values

Our vision can be summarised by having each child leave our school as “an emotionally intelligent and confident child ready for the next learning stage and challenge in life”.

This learning framework and the associated curriculum guidelines provide our teachers with a framework for the planning of innovative, creative, effective and high quality classroom teaching and learning programmes.


The primary purpose of assessment is to improve students’ learning and teachers’ teaching as both student and teacher respond to the information that it provides. Each day, staff carry out many forms of assessment to assist their own teaching and learning programmes.

Each year, school-wide quality assurance snapshots of student achievement are conducted. The following monitoring regime is observed at Elmwood:
Term 1
Y3-Y6 Progressive Achievement Tests (PAT) for Listening Comprehension, and Mathematics and Reading Comprehension.
Terms 2-4
Y1-Y6 Assessment of progress  for Reading, Writing, Mathematics.

Throughout the year school entry data (SEA) is collected on children in their first six weeks of school. Further, comparative data is collected on children as they turn six, to determine progress made during the first year of a child’s formal schooling.

Information & Communication Technology

At Elmwood Normal School we give all pupils the skills and confidence to use information technology across all learning areas in the national curriculum. We use information technology to overcome the social and distance barriers to learning. Through the internet we can access knowledge banks of the world. Classrooms are well resourced and include ICT equipment and phones. Desktop and Laptop computers and iPads are used in all classrooms and are networked.



Performance music plays an integral part in the life and education of all children at Elmwood Normal School. Opportunities exist for all children to be involved in musical activities at all levels throughout the school from fundamental classroom programmes through to selected groups where membership is gained by audition. The following groups function on a regular basis:
Syndicate Singing – offered at all levels
Elmwood Singers
Itinerant clases in violin, flute, clarinet, cello, guitar
Chamber Groups
Recorders offered in many classes

At the end of Terms 1, 2 and 3 many of the groups are given the opportunity to perform for their peers, parents and the community.  Times and dates are advertised in the weekly school newsletter and this website.


Dance classes are part of the curriculum offered to children.  We have a Specialist Dance teacher who instructs dance to each class for a term.

Education outside the Classroom (EOTC)

A wide range of experiences outside of the classroom is offered from the new entrant level. Children are challenged physically, intellectually and emotionally to interact with each other and to discover personal resources. Permission for your child/children to attend curriculum based EOTC activities is given by way of a parent signature on the enrolment form when your child commences school. Full details of any EOTC activities will be provided by your child/rens classroom teacher prior to any activity taking place.

Physical Education

1. Regular classroom lessons (fitness and skills)
2. Sport
3. Perceptual Motor Programme
Teachers aim to develop broad based skills which will enable children to make more specialised choices later in sport and recreation. Lessons in a supportive relaxed atmosphere provide opportunities for our Year 1 children to enjoy physical activity. Fitness programmes support these skill lessons.



Swimming lessons will be taken in the school pool from the beginning of the first term until the weather becomes too cold. Lessons resume in the fourth term when temperatures become warmer. This is part of the school programme and all children are expected to take part.

Perceptual Motor Programme

A small group of children in Yr 0-2 are taken for specific tuition in areas such as ball handling, eye and hand co-ordination, balance, laterality, self-confidence, listening, and concentration skills. Inclusion in this programme follows a set criteria.  This is undertaken on a Monday afternoon during Terms 2 and 3, and takes place in the auditorium.   Mr Brian Miles, our Sports Co-ordinator supports the teacher responsible for PMP. Parent help is also encouraged.